If you have an employer-sponsored account that resets periodically, here’s what you need to know.
How does the account reset work?
When your account resets, the balance is first set to $0.00, and then your new funds are added.
For example, if your account provides $50 per month and resets monthly, you’ll see your balance reset to $0.00 on the first of the month, followed by a $50 credit added the same day.
Why do account resets happen?
Resets help ensure you make the most of your benefits within the allowed timeframe.
Can I still submit claims after a reset?
That depends on your company's program rules. If your plan includes a run-out period, you may still be able to submit claims even after a reset.
To check if you have any unused funds from a previous period:
- Go to the Benefits tab.
- Select your account.
- Click “Show unused balance from previous periods.”
You can also learn more in this article: How does the run-out period of my employer-sponsored account work?
When do resets happen?
Reset schedules vary by company, some programs reset monthly, while others reset quarterly or annually. Be sure to review your program policy for details on when your funds reset and whether a run-out period is provided, allowing you additional time to submit eligible claims.
For example, if your company's program resets monthly and provides a 15-day run-out period, May funds will reset on June 1. However, you may still submit eligible expenses incurred in May through June 15 to be reimbursed using your unused balance from May.
If your program doesn’t include a run-out period, any unused funds will be forfeited at the end of the period. Learn more about expiring funds here: What are expiring and maximum balances?
To confirm specific details for your account, check your company’s program policy.